What is WiFi 5.0 GHz - Radio 2? How to disable hidden SSID for Fibe TV

equinox
Contributor III

I am new to Bell Fiber. I am using HH4K as a gateway since I have my router configured with VPN/DHCP, etc. The Wifi on HH4K is completely disabled (primary & guest). However, when I open "Advanced tools and settings" -> "Diagnostics", I can see "WiFi 5.0 GHz - Radio 2" is activated. I scanned wifi signal in my house and don't see any new wifi SSIDs.

So what is "WiFi 5.0 GHz - Radio 2"? Why I can't see or disable it?

Thanks

1 helpful reply

Accepted Solutions

ZaneP
Community All-Star
Community All-Star

Hi @equinox 

It's the hidden SSID for tv. It can't be disabled or turned off, regardless of what you have disabled on the HH4K.

I am a Community All-Star and customer. I'm here to help by sharing my knowledge and experience. My views on Bell and the Community Forum are my own and not the views of Bell or any of its affiliates.

View reply in original post

9 REPLIES 9

ZaneP
Community All-Star
Community All-Star

Hi @equinox 

It's the hidden SSID for tv. It can't be disabled or turned off, regardless of what you have disabled on the HH4K.

I am a Community All-Star and customer. I'm here to help by sharing my knowledge and experience. My views on Bell and the Community Forum are my own and not the views of Bell or any of its affiliates.

Hello. I'm hoping someone can help me out. Since I've received the 1.15.1 firmware update to the Gigahub, PPPoE is now working successfully. 

Since I don't use the Gigahub for WiFi, is there a way that a Bell support tech can disable the hidden SSID that's used for TV permanently? (Not just until a reboot and then it's enabled again).

I use my own Access Point and I don't really need any other signals clogging potential bandwidth up. 

The other radios are disabled; I'd really appreciate it if someone could please turn off the hidden SSID as well as I don't have Fibe TV.

Thanks

dks
Community All-Star
Community All-Star